At The Rocket

John A. Collier Sr. - 9/10/2019

"AT THE ROCKET”

VFW Post 4534

9.10.2019

 

Good Day Everyone,

      I know I know, you’re saying, why is this guy late? I have numerous excuses but honestly I have been going nonstop since before the Dorian Storm. Thankfully we were all blessed with minimal damage, if any, from the high winds.

 

     Big shout out to a couple of our life members that helped square away 9 or 11 homes prior to the storm. Next time we need a bigger truck.

 

     Some of you may already know that our Seafood boil has been rescheduled for 28 September at Seasons in the Sun RV Resort. Hope you can make it for that; should be a lot of food.

 

     What have we missed at the Rocket? Well let’s see, the two Aux baskets were won and then over this past weekend the Ace of Diamonds was won by one of our members.

 

     Football season started College and Pro. Remember the televisions are first come first serve so if you want to have a get together inside please be early enough to get the screen you want. I mentioned a couple weeks ago that if there is a game on and they want the volume up they will get their wish and the bingo players will have to rely on the screen in the canteen or relocate to the hall where they can hear the caller.

 

     Speaking of Football! I have only heard from 2 people wanting to help out on Sundays in the kitchen and on the grill. Diana and I will take care of two of the Sundays but we need your help on the other weekends. Actually 3 people on Sundays is even better.

 

     So, this Sunday from 12:30 to 5:00 PM we will have the kitchen open and the grill will be fired up. Please feel free to come by the post and even if you are not a football fan I guarantee you will have the best burger ever.

 

     Have a wonderful week and a great upcoming weekend.  

 

Tuesday 10 Sept.        7:00 PM Texas Hold’em

                                    7:00 PM Paint Stick and tiddlywinks                                               

 

Wed. 11 Sept.             1:00 PM Cards

                                    7:00 PM Auxiliary Meeting

                                     

Thurs 12 Sept.            7:00 AM Golf at Turtle Creek

                                    5:30 PM Tacos and Baskets

                                    6:30 PM Johnny Danger Live

                                               

Friday 13 Sept.           1:00 PM Shuffleboard

                                   5:00 PM Steak or Pork Chop Dinner

                                    7:30 PM Karaoke Connie

 

Saturday 14 Sept.       12:00 PM College Football (First come First Serve on TV’s)

                                    7:00 PM Pool Tourney

                                               

Sunday 15 Sep.           3:00 PM BINGO Caller is Mike

 

Monday 16 Sept.         1:00 PM Fun day Monday

7:00 PM Pool League

 

                                               

On the Radar:                      

September 2019

Sept. 19 Thurs. Bad to the Bone

Sept. 20 Fri. Karaoke Connie

Sept. 25 Wed. Game Night

Sept. 26 Thurs. Karaoke Connie

Sept 27 Fri. Karaoke James

October 2019

Oct. 3 Thurs. Louie and the Entertainers

Oct. 4 Fri. Karaoke Connie

Oct. 10 Fri. James Workman Karaoke

Oct. 11 Thurs. Louie and the Entertainers.

Oct. 17 Thurs. Bad to the Bone Karaoke

Oct. 18 Fri. Karaoke Connie

Oct. 23 Wed. Game Night

Oct. 24 Thurs. Johnny Danger Live

Oct. 25 Fri. Karaoke James

Oct. 31 Thurs. Louie and the Entertainers.

 

     

                                                                 John A. Collier Sr.

House Committee Chairman

Collier32@yahoo.com

(407) 271-9238

 

 

"Never give up on what you really want to do. The person with big dreams is more powerful than the one with all the facts.”   Albert Einstein


Check out our web page:

http://www.vfw4534.org/di/vfw/v2/default.asp?pid=2950

 

Check us out on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/VFWRocketPost4534/?ref=bookmarks