At The Rocket

John A. Collier Sr. - 8/15/2019

"AT THE ROCKET”

VFW Post 4534

8.18.2019

 

Good Day Everyone,

    Another wet week and it seems the rain will never end. With the rain comes a lot more traffic than normal so please be patient out there on the roads and consider the others that have had just as long of a day. There is no need for getting upset and making matters worse. In case you have missed the traffic news this past week there have been some horrific accidents including semi-trailers flipping over on 528 as well as I-95 South. Get there in one piece, even if it takes an extra 30 minutes.

 

     Something no one likes to talk about is death but it is part of life and it does happen in all of our lives. That being said, none of us can really know what someone else is going through or thinking. If you find yourself within earshot of someone who seems to be struggling, just listen. It is amazing how listening to someone could be their best remedy. This goes for any situation, be it at the Post or somewhere else. If you happen to be in the Post and someone seems to be struggling or maybe shows that desire to talk or to be heard, listen to them, let them vent. Sometimes the best answer is the one where you say nothing.

 

     Some of you may be wondering, where is John going with this week’s update? I only write from my own experiences and my mistakes that I have made in the past. I am hopeful that at least one of you hears me and does not make the same mistake as I have in the past. Statistics don’t lie and even though I know them myself, I do forget that veterans and their families will on occasion need help and being an ear for them could be all it takes to turn someone’s day around.

 

     Let us all have a fantastic week. See you at the Rocket.

    

 

Sunday 18 Aug                       3:00 PM BINGO Caller is Mike

                                                                                

Monday 19 Aug.         1:00 PM Fun day Monday

7:00 PM Pool League

 

Tuesday 20 Aug.        7:00 PM Texas Hold’em

                                    7:00 PM Paint Stick and tiddlywinks                                               

 

Wed. 21 Aug.             1:00 PM Cards

                                    5:30 PM House Committee Meeting

                                   7:00 PM General membership Meeting

                                     

Thurs 22 Aug.            7:00 AM Golf at Turtle Creek

                                    5:30 PM Tacos and Baskets

                                    6:30 PM Karaoke James

                                               

Friday 23 Aug.           1:00 PM Shuffleboard

                                   5:00 PM Steak or Pork Chop Dinner. Chicken Breast is an option

                                    7:30 PM Karaoke Connie

 

Saturday 24 Aug.        7:00 PM Ace of Diamonds drawing for the week.

                                    7:00 PM Pool Tourney

                                               

Sunday 25 Aug.                      3:00 PM BINGO Caller is Chuck

                                               

On the Radar:                      

August 2019

Aug. 28 Wed. Game Night

Aug 29 Thurs. Karaoke Connie

Aug 30 Fri. Karaoke James

 

September 2019

Sept. 5 Thurs. Karaoke Connie

Sept 6 Fri. Karaoke Louie and the Entertainers

Sept. 12 Thurs. Johnny Danger

Sept. 13 Fri. Karaoke Connie

Sept. 19 Thurs. Bad to the Bone

Sept. 20 Fri. Karaoke Connie

Sept. 25 Wed. Game Night

Sept. 26 Thurs. Karaoke Connie

Sept 27 Fri. Karaoke James

 

October 2019

Oct. 3 Thurs. Louie and the Entertainers

Oct. 4 Fri. Karaoke Connie

Oct. 10 Fri. James Workman Karaoke

Oct. 11 Thurs. Louie and the Entertainers.

Oct. 17 Thurs. Bad to the Bone Karaoke

Oct. 18 Fri. Karaoke Connie

Oct. 23 Wed. Game Night

Oct. 24 Thurs. Johnny Danger Live

Oct. 25 Fri. Karaoke James

Oct. 31 Thurs. Louie and the Entertainers.

 

     

 

                                                                

                                                                        John A. Collier Sr.

House Committee Chairman

Collier32@yahoo.com

(407) 271-9238

 

"Never give up on what you really want to do. The person with big dreams is more powerful than the one with all the facts.”   Albert Einstein


Check out our web page:

http://www.vfw4534.org/di/vfw/v2/default.asp?pid=2950

 

Check us out on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/VFWRocketPost4534/?ref=bookmarks