At The Rocket

John A. Collier Sr. - 6/23/2019

"AT THE ROCKET”

VFW Post 4534

6.23.2019

 

Good Day Everyone,

     Hope everyone is enjoying the heat wave we have had this past week. Looks like more this week. I mentioned last week about getting ready for the upcoming season of unknown "tropical” weather and how to get ready for whatever Mother Nature decides to hand us. Well, I took my own advice and went to check out the Post generator. Good thing I did. Digger and I got two new tires, gas and thought the battery was charging! Well, the new tires were no problem, getting the gas also no problem. The electric start does not work because the battery s dead and will not charge. The pull start is fine but when Digger turned on the gas, well, tried to turn on the gas! The fuel switch broke off in his hand. Got the new part this week and the generator is up and running like a champ. Hopefully we will not need it but we are ready.

    

     Check out the calendar everyone. This week we are trying something new and that’s Wednesday night "Game Night”. Bring your guests and let us see what happens. This could be games of your choice and just a great opportunity to socialize and get to know other members. I believe we will have Left Right Center (LRC), and different card games. Someone mentioned Chutes and Ladders! I don’t know, the opportunities here are endless.

 

     As many of you know, our new board members are officially taking over today the 23rd of June. Commander, Jim Lawson

Sr. vice Commander, Mark Kelly

Jr vice Commander is Rick McFarland

Quartermaster, Dennis Thompson

Adjutant, _______________

Chaplain, Bob King

Surgeon, Joe Phillips

Judge Advocate, Bill Fanning

Service Officer. Eddie Knoeble

Trustees, Vern Eitel, Dave Skinner, and John Bailey

House Committee Chairman, John A. Collier Sr.

Entertainment Chairman, John A. Collier Sr.

    

Sunday 23 June           3:00 PM BINGO Caller is Mike

                                                                                

Monday 24 June         1:00 PM Funday Monday

7:00 PM Pool League

 

Tuesday 25 June         7:00 PM Texas Hold’em

                                    7:00 PM Paint Stick and tiddlywinks                                               

 

Wed. 26 June              1:00 PM Cards

                                    7:00 PM NEW!!! GAME NIGHT

                                     

Thurs 27 June             7:00 AM Golf at Turtle Creek

                                    5:30 PM Tacos and Baskets

                                    6:30 PM Johnny Danger Live

                                               

Friday 28 June            1:00 PM Shuffleboard

                                    5:00 PM Steak or Pork Chop Dinner. Chicken Breast is an option

                                   7:30 PM Barefoot Brenda Karaoke

 

Saturday 29 Jun          7:00 PM Ace of Diamonds drawing for the week.

                                    7:00 PM Pool Tourney

                                               

Sunday 30 June           3:00 PM BINGO Caller is Chuck

                                               

On the Radar:                      

July 2019

July 4 Thurs. LOUIE and the Entertainers starting at 5:30 PM

July 5 Fri. Karaoke Connie

July 11 Thurs. Karaoke James

July 12 Fri. Mark Goodman Karaoke

July 18 Thurs. Bad to the Bone Karaoke

July 19 Fri. Mark Goodman Karaoke

July 25 Thurs. Johnny Danger Live Entertainment

July 26 Fri. Karaoke James

 

August 2019

Aug 1 Thurs. Karaoke Connie

Aug 3 Sat. Food Shoot

Aug 2 Fri. Mark Goodman Karaoke

Aug 8 Thurs. Johnny Danger Live Entertainment

Aug 9 Fri. Karaoke Connie

Aug 15 Thurs. Bad to the Bone Karaoke

Aug 16 Fri. Mark Goodman Karaoke

Aug 22 Thurs. Karaoke James

Aug 23 Fri. Karaoke Connie

Aug 29 Thurs. Karaoke Connie

Aug 30 Fri. Karaoke James

     

 

                                                                

                                                                        John A. Collier Sr.

House Committee Chairman

Collier32@yahoo.com

(407) 271-9238

 

"Never give up on what you really want to do. The person with big dreams is more powerful than the one with all the facts.”   Albert Einstein


Check out our web page:

http://www.vfw4534.org/di/vfw/v2/default.asp?pid=2950

 

Check us out on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/VFWRocketPost4534/?ref=bookmarks